Northern Alberta nominations filling up a month into federal election campaign

Northern Alberta nominations filling up a month into federal election campaign“Party nominations are rolling in for the federal election in northern Alberta.

The campaign period started with few non-Conservative Party candidates declared, and almost a month in the other major parties are catching up. The Greens have 31 candidates, the NDP 29 and the Liberals 28. The Libertarian Party is not far behind with 20 candidates.

Monday night the NDP voted in two Red Deer-area candidates, provincial election veteran Doug Hart to Red Deer-Lacombe and city councillor Paul Harris to Red Deer-Mountain View. In Yellowhead, the NDP nominated Ken Kuzminski, who ran for the party in the 2008 federal election.

Wednesday night the Liberal nomination for Lakeland went to Garry Parenteau, the oil and gas director for Fishing Lake Metis Settlement southeast of Bonnyville.

Christopher Brown, the communications co-ordinator for the Town of Slave Lake, won the Liberal vote for Peace River-Westlock. Another Liberal candidate was nominated Thursday night for Grande Prairie-Mackenzie.

Two races against Conservative incumbents who held cabinet positions are left uncontested by either the NDP or Liberals: Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State for Finance, in Battle River-Crowfoot, and Rona Ambrose, Minister of Health, in Sturgeon River-Parkland.

The Greens are missing candidates only from the ridings of Lakeland, Red Deer-Mountain View and St. Albert-Edmonton.

The Christian Heritage Party, the Rhinoceros Party and the Pirate Party all are supporting candidates in ridings scattered around the province.

Aside from party nominations, James Ford, publisher of the Sherwood Park Independent Weekly, is running again as an independent in the new riding of Sherwood Park-Fort Saskatchewan.

Conservative incumbent Tim Uppal is running against Edmonton Ward 12 Councillor Amarjeet Sohi (Liberal) in Edmonton-Mill Woods, a new riding incorporating the city’s southeast corner between Whitemud Freeway, Gateway Boulevard and Anthony Henday Drive. That race also includes Naomi Rankin (Communist), Ralph McLean (Greens), Jasvir Deol (NDP) and Allen Paley (Libertarian).

On the quirkier side, Dean Williams of Whitecourt says he’s petitioning the Governor General to be declared an independent prime minister. He has put his name forward as an independent in Peace River-Westlock.

The Journal will follow nominations for federal election candidates each week. For a full list and interactive map of candidates, visit

Translate »